Buy the Belgium Great Coat on http://www.armynavydeals.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Belgium Great Coat image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Located in: Jackets & Coats, Parkas/Cold Weather
The fabric of the Belgium Great Coat is spectacular. Customers are especially pleased with the workmanship of the stitch and weaving. Uncle Sam's coat has a custom made winter overcoat from a famous World War II designer in Belgium. The Greatcoat made in Belgium is quite comparable to the material and workmanship of the Russian overcoat *(also available at Uncle Sams). Uncle Sam's greatcoat selection has established a benchmark in the industry. Customer write and send us emails saying, "You (Uncle Sam) have exceeded my expectations." Note: * 100% wool * Front pockets * Gold buttons * Half belt * Split pea back * Surplus - Used in good condition
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Chest Size:
Feels true to size(12)
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long(5), Feels true to length(9)
Pros:
Durable(13), Stylish(8), Warm(16), Wind resistant(11)
Cons:
Constricts movement(8), Heavy / bulky(5)
Best Uses:
Casual wear(4)
Describe Yourself:
Advanced(6)
Gear Usage:
Cold weather living(13)
 
Pretty good, I guess
By double a from Saint Louis, MO on 12/24/2010
Chest Size:
Feels too small
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Durable, Warm, Wind Resistant
Cons:
Bulky, Constricts Movement
Describe Yourself:
Anytime
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

+ It is very warm.+ Wind-resistant (thick).- It has almost no lining.- Very *green*, not the neutral looking grayish color in the picture that has now been taken down.It was [...]missing several buttons. Instead of sending it back like I should have, I wore it and asked armynavydeals/uncle sams about new/replacement buttons, and was simply told that "it has been inspected."

 
Keeps you warm in the very cold climate
By Emperor DanoVerified Reviewer from Upstate, SC on 4/1/2010
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Breathable, Durable, Warm
Best Uses:
Backcountry
Describe Yourself:
Anytime
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

I just got my coat this week and i love it. Its hot outside right now but it when i put it on i actually stayed cool for a little while. The size is great and looks really good when just walking down the street.

Only problem is the color is actually appears green rather then brown like in the picture.

 
Great Coat
By ErrataVerified Reviewer from Buffalo on 3/17/2010
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
AWESOME, Durable, Warm
Cons:
Constricts Movement
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

I received this jacket this winter and it worked great. It is all wool it does not fail to keep you warm, and pretty dry (once again it's wool). It is a darker green than the one in the picture, which seems tan.

The jacket fits me well and it only restricts movement for me in the fact that it is a long coat.

Now you will definitely get some looks when you where this coat, so if you don't like that then don't buy it. Hopefully this all helps.

 
Mostly great, a few little niggles
By Nos402 the coat/jacket addictVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 2/15/2010
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Durable, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

Very stylish coat made from sturdy, heavy, rough wool. Just a few things to be aware of (most of which I guess are to be expected with vintage items of this type). In order of importance to me:

I'll have to have some tailoring done to it. The sleeve lining has come completely unattached on about half the arm hole on one side and a little bit on the other side too.

There is no lining to this coat. The inside is very roughly done. Not too big of an issue as most people will probably never see it.

Brass buttons need some cleaning.

And of course, just a bit musty smelling, but not nearly as strong as I was expecting.

 
Literally a -Great- Coat
By Babyface NelsonVerified Reviewer from Storrs, CT on 2/8/2010
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Durable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
Cons:
Bulky, Constricts Movement
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

I wear this coat between classes at my college which has a rather large campus (usually a 10 minute walk). My campus is very cold in the winter and VERY windy, and this coat is perfect for these conditions. I just put on a scarf, hat, and gloves and the coat takes care of the rest. I don't even need layers underneath. It is slightly difficult to fit in a lecture hall seat with such a large coat, but not freezing between classes is totally worth it! My one major complaint is the buttons. I lost enough that I couldn't replace them and had to buy a whole new set. If you buy this coat I highly recommend reinforcing the stitching of the buttons with thick thread (I used embroidery thread doubled up). Other than that though, this is the best piece of clothing I have every purchased. It looks very cool, especially when worn with a 50's style hat like a Fedora. I have gotten many comments from random people around campus along the lines of "nice coat!"

 
Possibly saved my life.
By kdjawVerified Reviewer from Alaska on 1/18/2010
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Durable, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
Cons:
Constricts Movement
Best Uses:
Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

Was a bit to small at first but I had a friend resize it. Was stuck outside in the middle of winter at -40F and a foot or two of snow. It wasn't the best night I've had but I was able to make it through and get some help the next day.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
People Will Notice This Thing
By JTCVerified Reviewer from Indianapolis, IN on 12/6/2009
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Durable, Warm, Wind Resistant
Cons:
Bulky, Constricts Movement, Not Waterproof
Best Uses:
Casual Wear
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

I bought this to use for going out and walking to class during the winter. It is keeping me warm so far (lowest temps 20F/-6C). I also discovered that it doubles as a blanket!

As some other reviewers have stated, it is an olive drab color. The buttons on mine were also much shinier than what is shown, and they have the lion from the Belgian crest on them. Pretty cool, but a bit flashy for me.

I have a 42" chest so normally would order medium size. I am glad I ordered a large size. I can wear a blazer or a T-shirt with equal comfort and the fit across the chest and shoulders is good.

Sleeves are a little long. This is a pro for warmth and looks fine with gloves on. (I bought some leather gloves from here and they go very nicely with it.)

The coat is a bit restrictive but it hasn't been anything more than a minor inconvenience for me.

FWIW, people will notice this coat.

One last thing. When I received the coat it reeked of some combination of mothballs and mildew. Dry cleaning took care of that, so if you planning on giving this as a gift keep that in mind.

 
Perfect qality
By NuggyVerified Purchaser from Stockholm, Sweden on 9/12/2009
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Durable, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
Best Uses:
Casual Wear
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

Warm and cosy, perfect when the cold gets in [thumbs_up]

 
Excellent coat
By aklVerified Reviewer from The Frozen North on 9/11/2009
Pros:
Durable, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
Cons:
Constricts Movement
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

Arrived in excellent condition, no wear spots, no needed repairs. It is definitely a high-quality and durable garment. It's intended for military use: inner liner is just olive canvas and has a somewhat unfinished look (nothing wrong with that, and anyway it's not visible when you're wearing it). It looks great. As far as sizing, I'm 6'0"/195lb and my Large is a pretty good fit. Cut is a tad on the slim side, so if you're barrel-chested go up a size. A bit stiff on the upper arms & shoulder area, but that's the price you pay for warmth.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good enough
By gallahad from Cary, NC on 6/20/2009
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Warm
Cons:
Bulky, Constricts Movement
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

Really warm overall, although face protection can be tricky since it gets itchy. One thing to note is that, under normal lighting, it's much more of an olive or green color. The brown in the studio shots only starts coming through in very bright light.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exactly what I expected!
By Cool Military ClothesVerified Purchaser from Ann Arbor, MI on 4/13/2009
Pros:
Warm, Wool
Gear Usage:
Just around town
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

Thanks it's exactly what I expected and arrived promptly after my order.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect Fit
By ArchaeocentricVerified Purchaser from Dayton, Oh. on 3/26/2009
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Durable, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Casual Wear
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

This is an excellent full length coat. The fabric and stitching are exceptional and look as if they will last a long time. The sleeve lenght is a little longer than expected, by less then a quarter of an inch, but only adds to the cold weather protection.I ordered a medium and at 5'7" with a 42" chest it fits better than any coat I have ever had. It's also suprising how many people like this coat and will stop you in public to ask where you got it.

 
Beautifully taylored
By Gefallen from Dayton, Oh on 3/21/2009
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Durable, Style, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
Best Uses:
Cold Weather
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

This greatcoat is wonderful. The length is perfect and is guaranteed to keep you warm in the coldest winters. This coat fits better than any coat I have every had and the cut is superb with quality stitching. I'm tempted to buy a second in case I ever manage to wear out this one.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Wnter Coat
By Walking girlVerified Reviewer from Cheney, WA on 12/15/2008
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Warm, Wind Resistant
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

As a woman, I had to buy medium to fit my bust, so had to shorten sleeves. Excellent quality. Keeps my butt and legs warm when walking in zero degree weather, and it looks great.

 
Practically Indestructible
By A StudentVerified Reviewer from Virginia, USA on 12/13/2008
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Durable, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
Cons:
Constricts Movement
Best Uses:
Winter Coat
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

I purchased this to have a versatile heavy coat to serve me during the winter, no matter where I happen to be wintering. Used alone, it's fine for everyday use in Virginia, and with a sweater, hat, and scarf it will get you through the cold of New England. It is highly water resistant due to the thickness and density of the cloth, but since it's wool the coat will keep you warm even when wet. The material is heavy and design simple. After wearing it for four winters, I'm starting to notice that the pockets are threadbare and need to be re-sewn, but that should be relatively simple to do.

I can only think of two. It restricts arm movement at the shoulder joint. The restriction is noticeable but should not hamper you in most circumstances. Just don't try acrobatics. On cold days, if I don't wear a scarf I feel like it lets in too much air through the front collar. This can be fixed by buttoning the collar, but that is scratchy and uncomfortable. It helps immensely if you wear a scarf instead.

Coat arrived in good overall condition. I had to make repairs on the back seam between the shoulder blades and underneath the collar. Did not ship with spare buttons, so if you lose one and cannot find a match, you might have to replace them all.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pretty Good Great Coat
By S. WykleVerified Reviewer from Chillicothe, Oh on 11/23/2008
Chest Size:
Feels too small
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Durable, Warm
Cons:
Bulky, Poor Ventilation
Describe Yourself:
Advanced
Gear Usage:
Cold Weather Living
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Belgium Great Coat:

This product is a pretty good purchase. I found the length excellent as well as the heft of the material. However, I noticed the shoulders are tight on my XL, so I'd suggest getting a size or two bigger then normal when ordering, to allow for space. The over all condition was good, only one small hole which was easily repaired.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 ArmyNavyDeals.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.