Buy the Swiss Great War Wool Coat on http://www.armynavydeals.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Swiss Great War Wool Coat image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Located in: SURPLUS - Genuine Issue, JK - Jackets & Coats
Can you imagine going into battle in a full length 100%wool great coat? The militaries from all over the world wore this extremely warm, dense wool to protect their country. They are gorgeous jackets that are being reused as dress and casual jackets today. Every country has their unique color or feature to them. This Swiss Great coat is a beautiful heather gray/blue. It has epaulets at the shoulders and Swiss insignia buttons throughout. The arm cuff is very long to let down for added warmth. There is a 20" pleat that buttons up in the back. They are usually placed so long for horse mounting. No clothing has the History of Military surplusssss???.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Sizing:
Feels true to size(5)
Fit:
Feels true to size(7)
Chest Size:
Feels true to size(7)
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length(9)
Pros:
Attractive(4), Comfortable(6), Durable(4), Great color(3), Plenty of pockets(3)
Best Uses:
Cold / extreme(7), Daily use(4), Everyday wear(4), Work(3)
Describe Yourself:
Outdoor enthusiast(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)
 
Pleased
By RKVerified Reviewer from Baton Rouge, LA on 7/14/2011
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Rugged, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather
Describe Yourself:
Outdoor Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

[...] The coat is used, as stated, but in good condition. Smelled a little like wool - of course. I'll have it cleaned, and I think I'll have a liner made.The sewn-in liner looks to be in good shape, but it a bit dirty. Not sure if that will come out with a dry cleaning or not. There are buttons for a removable liner, so I'll see what it will cost to have one made of a light, probably synthetic, material, for easy on and off.This coat will be great for winter when I'm in DC and Baltimore. Not sure how easily it will go through TSA screening, but I'll find out.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
No use being cold at any Steeler game !
By George of Movie Car CoVerified Reviewer from Weirton, West Virginia USA on 1/14/2011
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Rugged, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, During Operations
Describe Yourself:
Hunter, Outdoor Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

There is no excuse to wear you winter best at a Football game, bonfire party or just any outdoor winter activity. Now You can be warm, smoke an occasional cigar without worrying about ruining your coat. At the end of the year you just take it to Manuel's and have it cleaned and stored until you need it again. A great coat for next to no money ! Hell, it's almost free ! [...]

 
awesome
By sam the madman from atlanta ga on 11/7/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Comfortable attractive, Durable, Versatile, Warm
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Cold Weather
Describe Yourself:
Highschool student
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

great coat that i use for the cold seasons.
It is very warm and i can wear it for casual as well as formal uses.
my only issue is it is rather bulky.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Causual or Dressy.
By Colton Costello from Western Pennsylvania on 11/1/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Plenty Of Pockets, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
Describe Yourself:
Outdoor Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

I'll try to make this a good review, but also short if I can. To say the least, I was looking for a good trench coat. I wanted a nice casual, yet old-style military double breasted coat. I was in the market for something that is military, but not something people poke fun at when you walk down the streets in mondern day culture. I want to say, I have a Soviet Russian trench coat. It's wool. It smells. It's enormouse and it doubles as a blanket. It's great for shoveling the driveway or going to the shooting range in -10 degree weather; not so great for going out to the store or a night in the city. This coat is a great buy. I bought it this July. I have only gotten to wear it a couple times, because it being only the first day of novemeber now, the weather is just starting to get cold enough. This coat can be worn as a dress coat, or a casual coat in all honest. I wore it to a funeral last week over my suit because it was so cold that night. It works well as a dress coat if you don't button it up. The coat is very warm, very well made and very classy. It's lined with some kind of shiney material on the inside - the name of this is slipping my mind right now. On the outside, the coat is a aqua green/gray. The coat is made out of NICE shinel wool. Not anything like the old Russian coats. That is like wearing a spikey lamb. This is soft and smooth to the touch, not rough and irratating. With the coat I got a scarf, some leather gloves in black as well as a aqua face mask to wear on my neck. All for about a 100 bucks from this site. It's a great deal. I normally wear the coat over top of a hoodie for insalation. This coat is a bit loose fitting - not a bad thing. If you are looking to get that iraglass figure, you may want to wear a nice black belt around your waste. The coat DOES have little 'belt loops' one on each side of the coat to keep a belt in place and from slipping if you are to wear one. Great feature. I got the coat in a small size, and below I will list my specs and how the coat fits.5 foot 10/11inches145 poundsAverage Arm lenghtAverage Chest sizeThe coat fits well. a little loose, but you shouldn't wear it over top just a T shirt - something thicker. it is a cold weather coat, afterall. The Sleeves cuff up, less or more if you need them too. It's part of the style and you can makethem as short or long as you want them to be. The coat comes down to the bottom of my knees. Not to short, not to long. Nice. If you have any questions you can email me.[@]

Images shared by: Colton Costello

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing coat!!!
By AlVerified Reviewer from Kailua, HI on 2/1/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Comfortable, Rugged, Warm
Cons:
Bulky Sleeves
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
Describe Yourself:
Teenager
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

I'm only 15, but I know what a good coat is.
It may be for cold weather, but the inside is able to keep you at a good temperature if you need to be.
The sleeves are really long, but you just cuff them up, makes it look great and fit well.
I bought the coat from this site, and I can say, it was just as good as I expected it to be.
The wool is a little itchy, but I hardly turn the collar up.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Coat
By JeremyVerified Reviewer from Pennsylvania on 1/11/2010
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Breathable, Plenty Of Pockets, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear
Describe Yourself:
Average Guy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

I quite like this coat it's quite comfortable and good in most weather conditions though it's not so much a light blue it's more so a blue-green-greyish colour. Overall an awesome coat

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Very Nice Coat
By JPVerified Reviewer from Vacaville, CA on 12/17/2009
Fit:
Feels true to size
Chest Size:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels too long
Pros:
Plenty Of Pockets, Rugged, Versatile, Warm
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Cold Weather, Everyday Wear, Wet Weather
Describe Yourself:
Outdoor Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

I had the pleasure of buying this coat for a friend of mine from a local military surplus store (yes, I'm absolutely positive it's the same great coat). I feel I should provide some information here that the website does not give:

Size: the sizing is fine. the one I found was a chest size 46 (wheras I'm roughly a C38), and it was fairly large on me, but still fit- just with room to spare (which I dislike).

Length: I am 5'4, and the coat came roughly down to my ankles. it was about 1 feet and 2 inches from the ground, which approximately means that the coat is 42 inches in length. what I can say for sure: the length was perfect for me compared to some of the other coats I tried on. some of them came down to my feet.

Lining: the lining is great! no complaints, and even better, in fact! the lining on this coat extends all the way down, about 40 inches. there were a few that were only lined to the chest, so you might want to beware. as for the quality: it's a soft, non-quilted material, and my guess would be that it's silk. it feels nice.

I can't say much else, since I gifted it to a friend for christmas. I just tried it on briefly while in the store. all in all, though, from my first impressions, it's a very durable, well-made, and warm coat.

my dislikes: the sleeves are fairly long, about 24 inches (my arms measure at 20 inches, extended). fortunately that can be remedied by using a tailor.
the wool is somewhat scratchy if you turn up the collar, but that's to be expected. oh, and it also has an inside pocket.. I thought that was pretty cool.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great coat to look cool and stay warm.
By JamesVerified Purchaser from Maine on 9/3/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Great Color, Stylish, Timeless, Versatile, Warm
Cons:
Not for broad chested
Best Uses:
Daily Use, Going Out, Warm overcoat, Work
Describe Yourself:
Casual Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

Great overcoat, very warm, with a timeless style. Can be worn casual or to work. Customers with broad chests or large arms might find the cut a bit tight under the arms and in the sleeves. A coat that will last you many years and always be in style.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Winter Coat
By Simon the SurveyorVerified Purchaser from Germany on 8/3/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Comfortable, Durable, Great Color, Warm
Best Uses:
Daily Use, Work
Describe Yourself:
Classic Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

This is the perfect coat for what I needed it for. It's a spacious overcoat that comfortably fits over my suit for those cold winter days standing at outside meetings here in Germany. The coat is very long and provides extra protection right down the legs from the wind and rain.

Very pleased!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The perfect military coat.
By ValtielVerified Purchaser from Gold Coast, Australia. on 6/19/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable, Durable, Versatile, Warm
Best Uses:
Daily Use, Going Out, Travel, Work
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

Once the weather gets cool enough I wear this coat everywhere I go, it's comfortable and looks great. Quite simply, this coat is awesome!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good deal
By PaulVerified Purchaser from Nevada City, CA on 4/2/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable
Describe Yourself:
Classic Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

Nice military-inspired look without being too loud or showy. Great feeling over bulky sweaters for walking on cold winter nights or outdoor events.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Coat!
By JMVerified Purchaser from Cheney, WA (cold side of state) on 1/9/2009
Sizing:
Feels true to size
Sleeve Length:
Feels true to length
Pros:
Attractive Design, Comfortable, Great Color, Lightweight, Warm
Best Uses:
Daily Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual Dresser
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Swiss Great War Wool Coat:

Medium fit a 5'4" woman perfectly. Sleeves are not noticably too long. So tall men use caution. It is roomy enough for a sweater underneath. I wear it walking with various degrees of layers underneath in 10 to 30 temperatures. Can be dressed up or rumply casual. Color is not too military. I love this coat.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 ArmyNavyDeals.com All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.